University of Arkansas

The mission of the University of Arkansas Office for Sustainability is to motivate, facilitate and coordinate innovation and change through partnerships with faculty, students and staff across administrative units to create a culture of sustainability.

The office oversees the implementation of the University of Arkansas sustainability goals; convenes the community to share best practices; evaluates and recommends new programs and policies that strive to serve as replicable models to inspire students and future leaders.

It also facilitates coordination of research initiatives to expand our knowledge of sustainability solutions.

The Office for Sustainability was established in 2007 when the University of Arkansas signed the American College and University Presidents' Climate Commitment. The UA Sustainability Council was then established to help give programmatic and administrative guidance to the Office for Sustainability. In 2009 the Office for Sustainability created the University of Arkansas Climate Action Plan, which outlines the steps necessary to take to become carbon neutral by 2040.

In 2012 Dr. Marty Matlock, professor of biological and agricultural engineering, was appointed Executive Director of Sustainability. He coordinates academic, research, facilities, and outreach sustainability initiatives for the University of Arkansas.

In 2013, Matlock, along with the Office for Sustainability and the Sustainability Council, drafted a Campus Sustainability Plan to provide a clear path of sustainability metrics, initiatives and academic opportunities.

How do you move the Planet Forward? Tweet us @planet_forward or contribute to the conversation with your own story.