Missouri S&T Takes First In 2013 Climate Leadership Awards

Second Nature and Planet Forward are pleased to announce that site visitors and community members have chosen a winner in the voting component of the 2013 Second Nature Climate Leadership Awards. After a month-long open vote and a record-breaking total 48,882 votes cast, Missouri University of Science and Technology has come out on top with 16,374 votes. Planet Forward will feature the winning video across its media platforms over the next few months.

Missouri S&T’s submission to this year’s competition focused on two sustainable research projects – the Solar Village and the campus’s new geothermal energy plant. The Solar Village is a living lab of buildings, currently occupied by professors and students who work on their own solar grid, use sustainable building practices, and feed into a prototype community solar storage bank. The geothermal plant replaces the existing 60-year-old power plant. It will power 15 buildings on campus when completed in 2014.

Glendale Community College of Glendale, AZ came in second with 8,978 votes and St. Louis Community College Florissant Valley of Ferguson, MO came in third with 5,806 votes.

Voting took place from April 1, 2013 to 5 p.m. ET on April 30, 2013 on planetforward.org. All visitors to the site were allowed to vote once per video every 24 hours. All votes that were within this guideline were counted towards the final totals. Votes that were cast outside the one-per-day guideline were disqualified from the competition.

The finalists featured in the voting competition were chosen by Second Nature board members in January and asked to produce a 2-3 minute video highlighting their campus sustainability initiatives.

The annual Second Nature Climate Leadership Awards recognize innovative and advanced leadership in education for sustainability, climate mitigation and adaptation, and institutionalized sustainability at signatory campuses of the American College & University Presidents' Climate Commitment. Final overall award winners will be chosen later this spring by members of the Second Nature Board of Directors unaffiliated with ACUPCC signatory schools.

How do you move the Planet Forward? Tweet us @planet_forward or contribute to the conversation with your own story.